Friday, 17 April 2015

White Noise Session

Short solo set filmed at the White Noise Studio in Winterswijk, NL. Huge thanks to Marlon Wolterink for recording it.

Monday, 6 April 2015

Live at Hundred Years Gallery

'Live at Hundred Years Gallery' is the new album by my saxophone/turntable duo with Graham Dunning. Released by the excellent CRAM record label, the album contains our full set performed at the East London gallery in October last year.

The album is currently available as limited edition CDR and download:

Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Webster / Holub Duo Mini-Tour

My duo with Mark Holub is playing a series of UK dates in April:

April 13th - The Cowley Club, Brighton

April 14th - The Lamp Tavern, Birmingham

April 15th - The Vortex, London

All three dates will be double-bills with Mark's duo with Austrian violinist Irene Kepl.

Sunday, 8 March 2015

it's on like boiled corn

'it's on like boiled corn' is my new solo album released on Norwegianism Records. The album is a series of short improvisations and explores similar territory to my previous solo album 'Antennae', using a strict palette of minimal saxophone sounds, with an emphasis on breath and mechanical noises over "pure/natural" notes.

The album is currently available only as a limited edition CD (50 copies), and a download option will be available soon.

Buy / stream here:

Sunday, 22 February 2015

Sneeuwstorm - Rutger Zuydervelt

'Sneeuwstorm' is a new album by electronic/ambient composer Rutger Zuydervelt (Machinefabriek). The album comprises of one track which was made incorporating improvised saxophone sounds recorded especially for this project by Otto Kokke and myself.

Rutger writes: "I started with Sneeuwstorm by making an electronic 'framework' for the saxophones, mainly using recordings from electrical equipment, made with coil pick-ups. Then I asked two of my favorite saxophonists, Colin Webster and Otto Kokke, to improvise on the material.
Once I received Colin and Otto's contributions, things began to fall into place rapidly. As expected, they came up with something splendid. It inspired me again to morph the whole composition into something new, restructuring, processing and looping parts of Colin's and Otto's recordings, and adding more sounds of my own, such as field recordings, samples and electric guitar."

'Sneeuwstorm' is available on CD and download from Glistening Examples.

Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Viscera Press

Viscera - my duo album with Mark Holub has received some excellent press since it was released by New Atlantis Records in October last year:

"To be able to say you have heard something unique is rare these days. Of course, every musician's recordings are unique but occasionally there arrives an album which is truly 'stand alone' and Viscera (New Atlantic),the third album by saxophonistColin Webster and drummer Mark Holub is one such album."  - Sammy Stein, All About Jazz (full review)

"..see this as a latterday Interstellar Space."  - Stephen Graham, Marlbank (full review)

"..a gutsy, complex record, full of vibrancy and raw lyricism." - Paul Margree, We Need No Swords (full review)

"Webster and Holub have created an album that’s as gutsy as its title, and steadily fascinating throughout its run."  - Justin Cober-Lake, Dusted (full review) 

Full review in the November issue of Jazzwise Magazine by Dan Spicer.

Full review by Something Else!
Full review by Enola (Belgium)
Full review by Tomajazz (Spain)
Full review by Music Tales (France)
Short review by Free Form Free Jazz (Brazil)

Viscera is available on CD and download:

Sunday, 25 January 2015